The Reckoning Audiobook

The Reckoning Audiobook
special invitation from audible

The Reckoning John Grisham Audiobook 🎧

«A murder investigation, a courtroom drama, a family saga… The Reckoning is Grisham’s attempt to prove that he is more than just a standard thriller writer. Most jurors will believe the counselor has presented his case.» (From USA Today)

Clanton, Mississippi, October 1946

Pete Banning was Clanton, Mississippi’s favorite son: a decorated World War II hero, the patriarch of a prominent family, a farmer, father, neighbor, and devout Methodist. Then, on a cool October morning, he got up early, drove into town, entered the church, and calmly shot and killed his pastor and friend, Reverend Dexter Bell. As if the murder hadn’t been shocking enough, Pete’s only statement about it – to the sheriff, his lawyers, the judge, the jury, and his family – was: «I have nothing to say.» He had no fear of death and was willing to take his motivation with him to the grave.

John Grisham takes us on an incredible journey from the Jim Crow South to the jungles of the Philippines during World War II; from an insane asylum full of secrets to the Clanton courtroom where Pete’s defense attorney tries desperately to save him.

The Reckoning, reminiscent of the finest tradition of Southern Gothic storytelling, would be incomplete without Grisham’s signature layers of legal suspense, which he delivers every minute.

#thereckoning #johngrisham #freeaudiobook #thereckoningjohngrisham #thereckoningaudiobook

John Grisham Biography

John Grisham (born February 8, 1955 in Jonesboro, Arkansas, United States), is an American author, attorney, and politician whose legal thrillers frequently topped best-seller lists and were adapted for film. Grisham went on to become one of the best-selling authors of modern fiction.

Grisham grew up in the Mississippi town of Southaven. He practiced law and served as a Democrat in the Mississippi state legislature from 1984 to 1989 after being admitted to the Mississippi bar in 1981. Grisham then took three years to write his first novel, A Time to Kill (1989; film 1996), which deals with the legal, social, and moral ramifications of a Mississippi Black man being tried for the murder of two white men who raped his 10-year-old daughter. Despite favorable reviews for its well-crafted dialogue and sense of place, the novel did not sell well.

With his next novel, The Firm (1991; film 1993, TV series 2012), Grisham vowed to «take a naked stab at commercial fiction.» The novel is about a law school graduate who is seduced into joining a Memphis law firm that turns out to be a front for the Mafia. The sale of the film rights sparked a bidding war for the publishing rights, and within weeks of the book’s release, it was on The New York Times best-seller list, where it remained for nearly a year, allowing Grisham to give up his law practice and relocate to a farm in Oxford, Mississippi, with his family. Meanwhile, A Time to Kill, which was reissued in paperback, sold over three million copies.

In only three months, Grisham completed his third novel, The Pelican Brief (1992; film 1993), about a female law student investigating the assassinations of two Supreme Court justices. By March 1993, there were 5.5 million copies in print. The novel’s film rights were sold for more than $1 million. Another novel, The Client (1993; film 1994), eschewed suspense in favor of humour and slapstick energy. Critics almost unanimously agreed that the plot, which revolved around an 11-year-old boy who uncovers a mob-related murder plot, seemed tailor-made for the screen. Indeed, the novel’s film rights sold for $2.5 million, while the novel itself sold 2.6 million copies in 15 weeks. Grisham’s success continued with titles such as The Chamber (1994; film 1996), The Rainmaker (1995; film 1997), The Runaway Jury (1996; film 2003), and The Testament (1996). (1999).

Grisham took a break from his formulaic legal thrillers in 2001 with A Painted House (television film 2003), a story about a farm boy from rural Arkansas who discovers a troubling secret in his small town. Other nonlegal novels that followed were Skipping Christmas (2001; filmed as Christmas with the Kranks in 2004), Bleachers (2003), Playing for Pizza (2007), Calico Joe (2012), and Sooley (2013). (2021). Camino Island (2017) and Camino Winds (2020) are crime thrillers about a female writer.

Grisham, on the other hand, continued to write legal fiction, with The Summons (2002), The Last Juror (2004), The Appeal (2008), The Litigators (2011), The Racketeer (2012), and Gray Mountain (2014) among his later works. Grisham returned to the racial politics that drove the events of the first novel, this time examining their impact on a case involving a contested will, in Sycamore Row (2013), a follow-up to A Time to Kill that centers on the lawyer from that book, Jake Brigance. The Whistler (2016) is about judicial misconduct, while Rogue Lawyer (2015) follows the exploits of a criminal defense attorney who enjoys taking on seemingly hopeless cases. The Rooster Bar (2017) follows three indebted law students who discover that their school and student-loan bank are both owned by a questionable Wall Street investor. Later legal thrillers by Grisham included The Reckoning (2018), about a decorated World War II soldier who murders a pastor after returning to Mississippi, and The Guardians (2019), about a lawyer attempting to exonerate a murderer. Grisham continued the story of Jake Brigance, who defends a teen accused of murder in A Time for Mercy (2020).

His first nonfiction book, The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town (2006), delves into a 1982 murder case that resulted in the wrongfully sentencing of two Oklahoma men to death row. Grisham released the short-story collection Ford County in 2009. The following year saw the release of Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer, the first in a series of young-adult novels. The sequels were Theodore Boone: The Accused (2011), Theodore Boone: The Activist (2013), Theodore Boone: The Fugitive (2015), Theodore Boone: The Scandal (2016), and Theodore Boone: The Accomplice (2017). (2019).

special invitation from audible

DISCLAIMER: This website contains Amazon affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links, we will receive a small commission.

More From This Category


0 comentarios

Enviar un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.

Condensed Books

Subscribe! You will receive an email when a new book is uploaded

* indicates required

Copyright © 2022 Summary Books
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email